U.N.I.O.N. AWARDS - 2008


Don Thompson of Associated Press has been elected the UNION's Outstanding Journalist of the Year for 2007.  It was neck and neck with Andy Furillo all the way winning by just five votes.  

Frank Russo has been elected UNION Publisher of the Year - a new category of recognition for his great work with the California Progress Report.

Diane Barney, Opinion Editor at the Reporter has been elected as best editorial writer for 2007.  This is a difficult category because we don't always know who authors the great editorials in California's newspapers.

The  Life and Times Show in Los Angeles Producers worked with our UNION members in 2007 to learn all the issues on Prop 83 ,  They were voted the best televison broadcast medium.